DISC 2011
the 25th International Symposium on DIStributed Computing - September 20-22


Dijkstra Prize
The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of distributed computing.
The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.
The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC (even years) and EATCS DISC (odd years). The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year's prize recipient(s) will be included in the ACM PODC and EATCS DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper's lasting contributions.

The Award Committee of the Dijkstra Prize 2011, selected the paper

Sharing memory robustly in message-passing systems
by Hagit Attiya , Amotz Bar-Noy and Danny Dolev
Journal of the ACM (JACM), Vol 42 , 1 (January 1995)

to receive the Dijkstra Prize 2011.

The Prize will be officially delivered at 25th International Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC) during a special session that will take place in tuesday September 20th at 17.45
For further informations and past prizes please refer directly to the official disc-conference.org website in the Dijkstra Award section.

Best paper

Prizes will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. A paper is eligible for the best student paper award if at least one of its authors is a full-time student at the time of submission. This must be indicated in the cover page. The program committee may decline to offer the awards or may split each one of them.

Best Paper Award - The Award Committee awarded the paper
Locality and Checkability in Wait-Free Computing
Pierre Fraigniaud, Sergio Rajsbaum and Corentin Travers

Best Student Paper - The Award committee awarded the paper
Fast and Scalable Rendezvousing
Michael Hakimi and Adam Morrison

sponsored by:
logo sapienza         logo microsoft research        logo cini consorzio interuniversitario per l'informatica